Emily Caldwell ’14: Summer 2013

Image

Emily Caldwell, ’14, Charlotte, NC

One of the benefits of having a summer that runs from mid-May through the end of August is the abundance of time to engage in many experiences.  This is my last summer before graduation in the spring, and I have been staying busy.  After spending a short time at home recharging, reflecting on my summer to-do list, and many early mornings at the gym I left for Hanover, New Hampshire where I was a student at the Tuck School of Business for four weeks.  The four week business “bridge” program is a crash MBA course in subjects such as marketing, corporate finance, and managerial economics.

While in Hanover I had the great good fortune to be able to spend some time with Deb Carney, and meet another Theta alumna, Kirsten Teevens, whose husband is my brother’s football coach at Dartmouth.  It was wonderful to meet such an accomplished and interesting Theta, especially with such an unexpected connection to my family!  Though I was thrilled to be able to meet new Thetas, I was also excited to get to know my classmates at Tuck, and have the chance to catch up with some old friends from high school over the Fourth of July.

I left Hanover on the seventh to move into a dormitory at Suffolk University in Boston to start an internship at a financial institution located downtown.  The location of the dorm is fantastic because it is close to everything.  I can walk to Faneuil Hall in ten minutes, or the Charles River in twenty, and Boston Commons and the Boston Public Gardens are a quick walk across the street!

Image

Rowing on the Charles River

I am excited to have the opportunity to row 3-4 times a week on the Charles River, and the boathouse isonly a 15 minute walk from the dorm.  I can take a single scull out on the water Mondays, Wednesdays, Fridays, and Saturdays between the hours of 5:30 and 7:30am (6:30 on Saturdays, hooray for sleeping in!).  It is really wonderful to be in a boat again, and it is an excellent learning experience as I improve my skills in a boat I am relatively unfamiliar with.

On the eighth of July, I started a two month internship in the Investment Management and Trust division of a Boston financial firm. I am working with both the Operations, and Compliance/Regulations   areas within the division.  It is interesting to see and learn about the different kinds of work that go into supporting the smooth functioning of a financial institution.  I have been involved with a number of projects that include consolidating account models (from eighteen to six), reviewing approvals for disbursements from pledged accounts, and reconciling naming standards for accounts on the east and west coasts, and then creating a new naming standard.

While I learn a lot working on these projects, the most interesting part of the week is attending the IPC (Investment Policy Committee) Meetings on Tuesday mornings.  The meeting involves multiple offices of the firm , and covers events from the past week in municipal markets and equity markets, as well as discussion on how current events, such as the Federal Reserve’s intent to taper its purchases of bonds in 2013, or who President Obama will nominate as chairman of the Fed , affect markets.

When I am not rowing or working, there is quite a lot to do in Boston.  My roommate, Laura, who is a Spanish medical student studying in Barcelona, and I take full advantage of the free fitness classes on the Esplanade by the Charles River on weekdays.  And, just this past weekend, we went to Gloucester, MA with a few other girls from Barcelona, also medical students, to go whale watching.  I will never have difficulty remembering the Spanish word for whale again!  And, believe me when I say that speaking whale in Spanish is as entertaining as in English (is anyone else ready for Finding Nemo 2?).

I will return to Swarthmore after my internship ends on August 30th.  I am looking forward to seeing all of you again!  Enjoy the rest of the summer!

TLAM,

Emily Caldwell

Leave a Reply

