Alumnae Spotlight: Dina Zingaro ’13

Image

Dina Zingaro ’13

Dina Zingaro ’13 Current Job: News Associate at CBS Evening News with Scott Pelley in NYC

After graduation, like many Swatties, I plunged into a free trial of Netflix and decompressed from all the emotions of senior year and graduation. Soon though, I started reaching out to and met up with alumni I had worked with in the past – Cynthia Leive ’88 at Glamour, Martha Spanninger ’76 at the NPR affiliate Latino USA. I was so thankful to sit down with these women who had been in my shoes years ago and to listen to their advice on how to reorganize my resume, but even more, on how to navitage the limbo Swatties find themselves in after graduation. With the support and honesty they offered, both Cindi and Marty would have made great Thetas. During July, I started interning at an interreligious journalism organization in NYC, Odyssey Networks – Marty actually suggested the organization. Since I was a Religion and English Lit double major and had worked in journalism since high school, Odyssey served as a fitting transition after Swat. Even though Odyssey could not hire me full-time because of budget cuts, my boss connected me with dozens of journalists in the field that helped me expand my network. Staying active with work that interests you – even if the position is unpaid, and saying “yes” to meeting with anyone and everyone are two of the most valuable things I learned post-Swat.

Image

For a few weeks this summer, I had the opportunity to travel with a fellow Theta sister – Ms. Amanda Brown and another Swat friend. We lived as tourists (which isn’t always easy…so many foot blisters!) traveling and soaking up the sights and sounds of other countries. After sufficient carbo-loading in Europe, I returned to the US and picked up on the job search I had left behind.

At the end of September, I was hired as a News Associate at CBS News in NYC, for which I will spend 4-5 months at a time at different broadcasts such as CBS Evening News, 60 Minutes and Face the Nation. Right now, in the Research Department of the Evening News with Scott Pelley, I conduct research and background interviews, along with fact-checking the accuracy of the daily broadcast. This week is my fourth week and it’s been a rush; there are so many moving parts to the product that airs at 6:30 pm each night and to contribute even the small piece that I do is a thrill.

Leave a Reply

